Navigation
UKZN Sessional Dates 2022 - Howard College, Pietermaritzburg and Westville

FIRST SEMESTER:     Monday, 14 February – Tuesday, 28 June

EASTER VACATION:     Saturday, 09 April – Monday, 18 April

WINTER VACATION:     Wednesday, 29 June – Sunday, 24 July

SECOND SEMESTER:     Monday, 25 July – Monday, 5 December

MID-TERM BREAK:     Saturday, 24 September – Sunday, 02 October

 

PRE-SEMESTER

 

Sat, 01 Jan

Sat, 01 Jan

New Years Day (Public Holiday)

 

Mon, 03 – Fri, 07 Jan

Mon, 03 Jan

University opens

Fri, 07 Jan

Deadline for submission of Re-Registration Appeals by PG students to School Higher Degrees Offices

 

Mon, 10 – Fri, 14 Jan

Mon, 10 Jan

Remote online registration opens for returning students

Fri, 14 Jan

School Higher Degrees Committees to consider Re-Registration Appeals from PG students, for recommendation to CAAB

 

Mon, 17 – Fri, 21 Jan

Wed, 19 Jan

Deadline for the submission of Exclusion Appeals from UG/Hons and PG Dip students

Fri, 21 Jan

USAf download of NSC results (provisional)

 

Mon, 24 - Fri, 28 Jan

 

 

 

Mon, 31 Jan – Sat, 05 Feb

Fri, 04 Feb

CAECOM meetings

Sat, 05 Feb

Parents Day

 

Mon, 07 – Sat, 12 Feb

Mon, 07 – Sat, 12 Feb

Orientation and dedicated remote online registration of First time entering new (FTEN) students

Wed, 9 Feb

AECOM meeting

Thu, 10 Feb

For Higher Degrees students:  Final date for submission of bound examination copies with respect to any intention to submit received in semester 2:2021, without having to register for semester 1 of 2022.

 

SEMESTER 1: 

1

Mon, 14 – Fri, 18 Feb

Mon, 14 Feb

First semester and Lectures commence

2

Mon, 21 – Fri, 25 Feb

Fri, 25 Feb

Final date for submission of applications for curriculum changes

Final date for submission of requests for extended DPs for those modules that had DPs in 2021

Final date for minimum fee payment required for registration

Final date for semester 1 academic registration

3

Mon, 28 Feb – Fri, 04 Mar

 

 

4

Mon, 07  – Fri, 11 Mar

 

                                                                      

5

Mon, 14 – Fri, 18 Mar

Tue, 15 Mar

Final date for capturing graduation decisions onto ITS (Bachelors, Honours, Diplomas and Certificates)

6

Mon, 21 – Fri, 25 Mar

Mon, 21 Mar

Human Right’s Day (Public Holiday)

7

Mon, 28 Mar – Fri, 01 Apr

Thu, 31 Mar

Final date for capturing graduation decisions onto ITS (Masters and Doctoral Students)

8

Mon, 04 – Fri, 08 Apr

Fri, 08 Apr

Lectures end

Fri, 08 Apr

Final date for withdrawal from a module and for withdrawal from the University (semester 1)

Fri, 08 Apr

Final timetable for main and supplementary examinations released

 

Sat, 09  to Mon, 18 Apr

EASTER VACATION: STUDENT MID-TERM BREAK

Fri, 15 Apr

Good Friday (Public Holiday)

9

Mon, 18 – Fri, 22 Apr

Mon, 18 Apr

Easter Monday (Public Holiday)

Tue, 19 Apr

Lectures commence

Wed, 20  – Tue, 26 Apr

Graduation ceremonies (Westville)

10

Mon, 25  – Fri, 29 Apr

Wed, 27 Apr

Freedom Day (Public Holiday)

Fri, 29  – Sat, 30 Apr

Graduation ceremonies (Pietermaritzburg)

11

Mon, 02 – Fri, 06 May

Mon, 02 May

Mon, 02 – Tues, 03 May

Workers’ Day (Public Holiday observed on the Monday)

Eid al Fitr (condoned absence) (provisional)

12

Mon, 09 – Fri, 13 May

Tue, 10 May

Tuesday, 10 May follows a Monday timetable

13

Mon, 16 – Fri, 20 May

 

 

14

Mon, 23 – Fri, 27 May

Tue, 24 May

DP Refusals to be published for those modules with formal sit-down examinations

Wed, 25 May

Lectures end for those modules with formal sit-down examinations. Lectures continue for those modules taught online with continuous assessment.

Fri, 27 May

Final date for submission of DP Refusal Appeals to School offices for those modules with formal sit-down examinations

 

Mon, 30 May – Fri, 03 Jun

Tue, 31 May

First semester examinations commence (including Saturdays) for those modules with formal sit-down examinations

 

Mon, 06 – Fri, 10 Jun

 

 

 

Mon, 13 – Fri, 17 Jun

Tue, 14 Jun

First semester examinations end for those modules with formal sit-down examinations

Wed, 15 – Mon, 20 Jun

Break between examinations for those modules with formal sit-down examinations

Thur, 16 Jun

Youth Day (Public Holiday)

 

Mon, 20 – Fri, 24 Jun

Tue, 21 Jun

Supplementary examinations commence (including Saturday) for those modules with formal sit-down examinations

 

 

Fri, 24 Jun

Semester 1 Lectures end for all modules taught online incuding all continuous assessment opportunities

 

Mon, 27 Jun – Fri, 01 Jul

Tue, 28 Jun

Supplementary examinations end

Tue, 28 Jun

First semester ends for all students

Semester 1: Teaching days for modules with formal sit-down examinations

  • Teaching days:    Monday 12  ,  Tuesday 13  ,  Wednesday 13  ,  Thursday 13 ,  Friday 13   :  64 days
  • Compensatory day:   (Tuesday, 10 May, follows Monday’s timetable)
  • Study leave:  5 days;     Main Examinations:  14 days;  Supplementary Examinations:  7 days; 

 

     Wed, 29 Jun  – Sun, 24 Jul

MID-YEAR BREAK  (Winter Vacation)

 

SEMESTER 2: 

 

Mon, 04 – Fri, 08 Jul

Thu, 07 Jul

Supplementary examinations marks for formal sit-down examinations and all continuous assessment marks to be captured on SMS by 12h00

 

Mon, 11 – Fri, 15 Jul

Mon, 11 Jul

Eid al Adha (condoned absence)(provisional)

Thu, 14 Jul

School Examination Boards

Fri, 15 Jul

Release of results at 00h01

 

Mon, 18 – Fri, 22 Jul

Thu, 21 Jul

For Higher Degrees students:  Final date for submission of bound examination copies with respect to any intention to submit received in semester 1:2022, without having to register for semester 2 of 2022.

Fri, 22 Jul

Deadline for applications for remarks for those modules with formal sit-down examinations

Fri, 22 Jul

Deadline for submission of Exclusion Appeals

1

Mon, 25 – Fri, 29 July

Mon, 25 Jul

Second semester and Lectures commence

Wed, 27 Jul

CAECOM meetings

Fri, 29 Jul

AECOM meeting

2

Mon, 01 – Fri, 05 Aug

Fri, 05 Aug

Final date for submission of applications for curriculum changes

Fri, 05 Aug

Final date for submission of requests for extended DPs for those modules that had DPs in 2021

Fri, 05 Aug

Final date for minimum fee payment required for registration

Fri, 05 Aug

Final date for first semester academic registration

3

Mon, 08 – Fri, 12 Aug

Tues, 09 Aug

National Women’s Day (Public Holiday)

4

Mon, 15 – Fri, 19 Aug

Fri, 19 Aug

Final day for capturing graduation decisions onto ITS (Bachelors, Honours, Diplomas and Certificates)

5

Mon, 22 – Fri, 26 Aug

 

 

6

Mon, 29 Aug – Fri, 02 Sep

Fri, 02 Sep

Final day for capturing graduation decisions onto ITS (Masters and Doctoral Students)

7

Mon, 05 – Fri, 09 Sep

Mon, 05 Sep

Monday, 5 September follows a Tuesday timetable

8

Mon, 12 – Fri, 16 Sep

Fri, 16 Sep

Final date for withdrawal from a module and for withdrawal from the University (Semester 2)

Fri, 16 Sep

Final timetable for main and supplementary examinations released

9

Mon, 19 – Fri, 23 Sep

Mon, 19 to Fri, 23 Sep

Spring graduation ceremonies (Westville)

Fri, 23 Sep

Lectures end

 

Sat, 24 Sep – Sun, 02 Oct

STUDENT MID-TERM BREAK

10

Mon, 03 – Fri, 07 Oct

Mon, 03 Oct

Lectures resume

11

Mon, 10 – Fri, 14  Oct

 

 

12

Mon, 17 – Fri, 21 Oct

 

 

13

Mon, 24 – Fri, 28 Oct

Mon, 24 Oct

Diwali/Deepavali (condoned absence)

14

Mon, 31 Oct – Fri, 04 Nov

Mon, 31 Oct

DP Refusals to be published for those modules with formal sit-down examinations

Tue, 01 Nov

Lectures end for those modules with formal sit-down examinations. Lectures continue for modules taught online and assessed by continuous assessment

Thu, 03 Nov

Final date for submission of DP Refusal Appeals to School offices for those modules with formal sit-down examinations

 

Mon, 07  – Fri, 11 Nov

Mon, 07 Nov

Second semester examinations commence (including Saturdays) for those modules with formal sit-down examinations

 

Mon, 14  – Sat, 19 Nov

Sat, 19 Nov

Second semester examinations end for those modules with formal sit-down examinations

 

Mon, 21 – Fri, 25 Nov

 

 

 

Mon, 28 Nov – Fri, 02 Dec

Mon, 28 Nov

Second semester supplementary examinations commence for those modules with formal sit-down examinations

Fri, 02 Dec

Final date for submission of theses/dissertations to the School/College Higher Degrees offices for possible April 2023 graduation

Fri, 02 Dec

Semester 2 Lectures end for all modules taught online incuding all continuous assessment opportunities

 

Mon, 05 Dec

Mon, 05 Dec

Second semester supplementary examinations end for those modules with formal sit-down examinations

Mon, 05 Dec

Second semester ends for all students

Semester 2: For modules with formal sit-down examinations

  • Teaching days:   Monday 13  ,  Tuesday 13  ,  Wednesday 13 ,  Thursday 13 ,  Friday 13  :   65 days
  • Compensatory days:   (Monday, 5 September follows a Tuesday timetable)
  • Study leave:  5 days;     Examinations:  14 days;     Supplementary Examinations:  7 days

 

YEAR-END BREAK:

 

Mon, 05 – Fri, 09 Dec 

 

 

 

Mon, 12 – Fri, 16 Dec 

Tue, 13 Dec

Supplementary examination marks to be captured on SMS by 12h00

Fri, 16 Dec

Day of Reconciliation (Public Holiday)

 

Mon, 19 – Fri, 23 Dec

Tue, 20 Dec

School Examination Boards

Wed, 21 Dec

Results to be released at 00h01

 

 

Fri, 23 Dec

University Offices close at 12h00

 

PLEASE NOTE:   

  • The University of KwaZulu-Natal reserves the right to change any of the said Sessional Dates, solely in its discretion, and without any liability for inconvenience and/or loss occasioned thereby.
  • Sessional Dates for both the School of Clinical Medicine and the School of Education will be published separately.
  • BComHons(Acc) and PGDip(Acc) : Winter vacation (TBA); and lectures will end on TBA. September mid-term break (TBA); and year-end examinations (incl. supplementary exams) will run from TBA.
  • All Bachelor of Nursing students are required to attend clinical training and community work during vacations in the year from 01 January 2022 up until 31 December 2022

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved