Navigation
Sessional Dates Framework for 2021 Academic Year
 

WEEK

DATE

RETURNING (and new) RESEARCH MASTERS AND DOCTORAL STDS

RETURNING STUDENTS (UG, Hons, PGDip and CWM) incl. transfers and FIRST ENTRY Hons, PGDip, CWM and Research M&D)

FIRST ENTRY LEVEL 1 UNDERGRADUATES

 

Fri, 1

Fri, 1 Jan

New Years Day (Public Holiday)

 

Mon, 4 - Fri, 8 Jan

Mon, 4 Jan

University opens at 08h00

Sat, 9 Jan

 

Residences open only for those students identified as having examinations/pracs (teaching/clinical) as required by Statutory Bodies and invited back to campus

 

Sun, 10 Jan

Deadline for Re-Registration Appeals to School Higher Degree Offices

   
 

Mon, 11 – Fri, 15 Jan

 

Remote, self-help, online registration for returning RESEARCH M and D students.

Exam week Mon, 11 - Fri, 15 Jan

 

Tues, 12 Jan

School Higher Degree Committees to consider re-registration appeals, for recommendation to CAAB

   
 

Mon, 18 – Fri, 22 Jan

 

Remote online registration. Ditto

Supps Wed 20, Jan - Saturday 24 Jan

 

Thu, 21 Jan

Special CAABs to consider recommendations from School Research & Higher Degree Committees

   

Fri, 22 Jan

Final notification deadline for all re-registration applicants on outcome of appeal

   

Sat, 23 Jan

 

Vacate residences on or before 25 Jan

 
 

Mon, 25 – Fri, 29 Jan

 

Remote online registration

Staff - module administration

 

Thu, 28 Jan

Final date for submission of bound examination copies with respect to any intention to submit received in semester 2:2020, without having to register for semester 1 of 2021

   

Fri, 29 Jan

-Final date for minimum fee payment required for registration RESEARCH M&D, and
-Final date for semester 1 registration for RESEARCH M&D

   
 

Mon, 1 – Fri, 5 Feb

 

Semester 1 commences for Research students

Staff module administration

 

Wed, 3 Feb

 

Exam Boards for semester 2:2020

 

Fri, 5 Feb

 

Release of 2nd semester 2020 results after Exam Boards (00h01)

 
 

Mon, 8 – Fri, 12 Feb

 

Mon, 8 Feb

 

Remote, self-help, online registration opens. Programmes specific

 

Fri, 12 Feb

 

Deadline for registration appeals Hons, PGDip and Coursework Masters students

 
 

Mon, 15 – Fri, 19 Feb

   

Week: Online registration ditto

 

Wed, 17 Feb

 

School Committees to consider registration appeals from Hons, PGDip and CWM students

 
 

Mon, 22 – Fri, 26 Feb

   

Week: Online registration ditto

 

Mon, 22 Feb

 

Special CAABs to consider recommendations from School Committees

 

Tues, 23 Feb

   

Release of Matric results

Fri, 26 Feb

     
 

Mon, 1– Fri, 5 Mar

Mon, 1 Mar

 

First semester lectures commence online for all students in these category

 

Fri, 5 Mar

 

-Final date for minimum fee payment required for registration.

-Final date for semester 1 registration.

-Final date for curriculum changes

 
 

Mon, 8 – Fri, 12 Mar

 

Mon, 8 Mar

 

First semester lectures commence online for all students in these categories.

Remote, self-help, online registration opens for first entry first year students

Sat, 13 Mar

   

Virtual Parents Day

 

Mon, 15 – Fri, 19 Mar

Fri, 19 March

-Final date for minimum fee payment required for registration RESEARCH M&D, and

-Final date for semester 1 registration for RESEARCH M&D

-Final date for minimum fee payment required for registration.

-Final date for semester 1 registration.

Remote, self-help, online registration continues

 

Mon, 22 – Fri, 26 Mar

Mon, 22 Mar

Human Rights Day (Public Holiday Observed)

Tues, 23 Mar

   

Remote Online Orientation week for First entrants

Remote. Self-help, online registrarion continues

VIRTUAL ORIENTATION WEEK

 

Mon, 29 - Fri, 2 Apr

Mon, 29 Mar

   

First semester lectures commence online for all first entry students 

Thu, 1 Apr

 

Final date for curriculum changes

 

Fri, 2 Apr

Good Friday (Public Holiday)

 

Mon, 5 – Fri, 9 Apr

Mon, 5 Apr

Family Day (Public Holiday)

Fri, 9 April

   

-Final date for curriculum changes

 

Mon, 12 – Fri, 16 Apr

       

Wed, 14 April

Final date for capturing ALL graduation decisions onto ITS (Bachelor through to PhDs)

 
 

Mon, 19 – Fri, 23 Apr

       

Fri, 23 Apr

Final date for withdrawal from a module and Final date for withdrawal from the University (S1) for ALL categories of registered students

Last day of T&L and continuous assessment before student recess

 

Mon, 26 – Fri, 30 Apr

STUDENT RECESS (MID-TERM BREAK) FOR ALL CATEGORIES OF STUDENTS - Monday 26 - Friday 30 April

Tues, 27 Apr

Freedom Day (Public Holiday)

Sat, 1 May

Workers’ Day (Public Holiday)

 

Mon, 3 – Fri, 7 May

Mon, 3 May

 

T&L commences again, with continuous assessment

T&L commences again, with continuous assessment

 

Mon, 10 – Fri, 14 May

       

Tues, 11 & Wed, 12

Proposed Graduation PMB

   

Thu, 13 May

Eid ul Fitr (condoned absence)

Sat, 15 May

Proposed Graduation WVL commences

 

Mon, 17 – Fri, 21 May

 

Proposed Graduation ceremonies WVL

   

Sat, 22 May

Proposed Graduation ceremonies WVL end

   
 

Mon, 25 – Fri, 28 May

       
 

Mon, 31 – Fri, 04 Jun

       
 

Mon, 7 – Fri 11, Jun

       
 

Mon, 14 – Fri, 18 Jun

Wed, 16 Jun

Youth Day (Public Holiday observed)

   
 

Mon, 21 - Fri 25 Jun

Fri, 25 June

     
 

Mon, 28 June - Fri, 2 Jul

Fri, 2 Jul

  LECTURES END, including all continuous assessment opportunities. However, academics can complete lectures before this date.

LECTURES END, including all continuous assessment opportunities (Note: 16 July entry).

   

Mon, 5 July - Fri, 13 August: STUDENT RECESS (MID-YEAR BREAK) FOR MAJORITY OF STUDENTS

 

Mon, 5 - Fri, 9 Jul

Mon, 5 – Wed, 7 Jul

 

Week of 5 – 7 July, Special assessments only final year /M+students near DC (3 days) (maximum of two (2) coursework modules outstanding, both modules having been registered for and participated during Semester 1 of 2021).

 

Thur, 8 Jul

   

Colleges to submit lists of FTENs who are required to remain in residences to DSRA – for relocation to limited ‘open’ residences.

Fri, 9 Jul

 

All available final module marks to be captured on SMS by 12h00

 
 

Mon, 12 - Fri, 16 Jul

Fri, 16 July

   

Late FTENs LECTURES END, including all continuous assessment

Mon, 19 – Fri, 23 Jul

Tues, 20 Jul

Eid ul Adha (Celebrated on Wed 21 July)

Wed 21 Jul

 

All modules to be Closed

All modules to be Closed

Fri, 23 Jul

Final ERS run for ALL students

Mon, 26 – Fri, 30 Jul

Tues, 27 Jul

EXAM BOARDS

Wed, 28 Jul

Release of 1st semester results after Exam Boards (00:01 am)

SEMESTER 2: THESE DATES GOING FORWARD APPLY TO ALL REGISTERED STUDENTS

 

Mon, 2 Aug – Fri, 6 Aug

Tues, 3 Aug

DEADLINE: ONLINE EXCLUSION APPEALS, and POST GRAD RE-REGISTRATION APPEALS TO COLLEGES

Wed, 4 Aug

Remote online Registration and Change of Curriculum Commences for Semester 2:2021

 

Mon, 9 – Fri, 13 Aug

Mon, 9 Aug

National Women’s Day (Public Holiday)

Tues, 10 Aug

CEACOMs

Fri, 13 Aug

AEACOM

1

Mon, 16 – Fri, 20 Aug

Mon, 16 Aug

SEMESTER 2 LECTURES COMMENCE FOR ALL STUDENTS.

2

Mon, 23 – Fri, 27 Aug

Thurs, 26 Aug

Final date for submission of bound examination copies of dissertations/theses with respect to any’ Intention to Submit’ received in semester 1 of 2021 from a registered student, without that student having to register for semester 2 of 2021. Note: For possible Graduation Autumn 2022.

Fri, 27 Aug

Final date for minimum fee payment required for registration. Final date for Semester 2 academic registration.

3

Mon, 30 Aug – Fri, 3 Sept

Fri, 3 Sept

Final date for curriculum changes

4

Mon, 6 – Fri, 10 Sept

   

5

Mon, 13 – Fri, 17 Sept

Fri, 17 Sept

Final date for withdrawal from a module and Final date for withdrawal from the University (S2:2021)

Final date for Registration of First Entry RESEARCH Masters and Doctoral candidates

 

Mon, 20 - Fri 24 Sept

STUDENT RECESS (MID-TERM BREAK) MONDAY 20 – FRIDAY 24 SEPTEMBER

Fri, 24 Sept

Heritage Day (Public Holiday)

6

Mon, 27 Sept – Fri, 01 Oct

   

7

Mon, 4 Oct – Fri, 8 Oct

   

8

Mon, 11– Fri, 15 Oct

Fri, 15 Oct

 Final date for capturing ALL graduation decisions onto ITS (Bachelor through to Doctoral degrees).

9

Mon, 18 – Fri, 22 Oct

   

10

Mon, 25 – Fri, 29 Oct

   

11

Mon, 1 Nov – Fri, 5 Nov

Thu, 4 Nov

Diwali/Deepavali (condoned absence) No assessments or student submissions to be set for this day

12

Mon, 8 – Fri, 12 Nov

   

13

Mon, 15 – Fri, 19 Nov

 

Proposed week for virtual Spring 2021 Graduation ceremonies (TBA)

14

Mon, 22 – Fri, 26 Nov

Fri, 26 Nov

SEMESTER 2 LECTURES END, including all continuous assessment opportunities

 

Mon, 29 Nov – Fri, 3 Dec

Fri, 3 Dec

Last day for submission of theses/dissertations from students registered in the semester (Sem 2:2021) to the Post-Graduate Administration Offices for possible Autumn 2022 Graduation.

 

Mon, 6 – Fri, 10 Dec 

Wed, 8 Dec

All marks to be capture on SMS by 12h00

 

Mon, 13 – Fri, 17 Dec

Wed, 15 Dec

Exam Boards

Thur, 16 Dec

Day of Reconciliation (Public Holiday)

Fri, 17 Dec

Release of 2nd semester results after Exam Boards (00h01)

 

Mon, 20 – Fri, 24 Dec

Fri, 24 Dec

University Offices Close (12h00)

 

Mon, 27 Dec - Fri, 31 Dec

Mon, 27 Dec

Day of Goodwill (Public Holiday observed)

 

 PLEASE NOTE:

  • Sessional Dates for both the School of Medicine and the School of Education will be published separately.
  • All Bachelor of Nursing students are required to attend clinical training and community work during vacations in any academic year.
  • PGDip (Acc): Sessional dates will be published within the School.-
  • Assumed certain COVID 19 restrictions will still be in place, especially in terms of physical distancing and maximum number of people in a venue (rule of thumb 1.5m2 per person required). COVID 19 will continue to define that the majority of modules are taught online, and assessed via continuous assessment within a semester. Remote online teaching and learning to be re-assessed as modus operadi in July 2021.
  • Level 1 modules must be assessed via continuous assessment during Semester 1:2021. To be re-assessed for Semester 2:2021
  • While Graduation ceremony dates have been factored in, there is however, no guarantee of on-site graduation.

 

  • The University of KwaZulu-Natal reserves the right to change any of the said Sessional Dates, solely in its discretion, and without any liability for inconvenience and/or loss occasioned thereby.

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved