Navigation
School of Education 2021 Sessional Dates

2021

2021 WEEK

DATE

RETURNING (and new) RESEARCH MASTERS AND DOCTORAL STDS

RETURNING STUDENTS (UG, Hons, PGDip and CWM)  incl. transfers and FIRST ENTRY Hons, PGDip, CWM and RESEARCH  M&D

FIRST ENTRY LEVEL 1 UNDERGRADUATES

1

Mon, 01– Fri, 05 Mar

Mon, 01 Mar

 

Lectures, W 1

First semester lectures commence online for all students in this category

 

 

Mon, 01 -  Fri, 18 Mar

 

PGCE EDTP611 Classroom Technology

commences

 

Fri, 05 Mar

 

-Final date for minimum fee payment required for registration.

-Final date for semester 1 registration.

-Final date for curriculum changes

 

2

Mon, 08  – Fri, 12 Mar

Mon, 08 - Fri, 12

 

Lectures, W 2

 

 

Remote, self-help, online registration opens for first entry first year students

Sat, 13 Mar

 

 

Virtual Parents Day

3

Mon, 15 – Fri, 18 Mar

 

 

Lectures, W 3

 

Remote, self-help, online registration and Virtual Orientation week

Fri, 18 Mar

 

PGCE EDTP611 Classroom Technology ends

 

Sat, 19 Mar

 

 

 

4

Mon, 22 – Fri, 26 Mar

Mon, 22 Mar

Human Rights Day (Public Holiday Observed)

 

 

Tues, 23 Mar

 

Lectures, W 4

 

First Semester commences online for first entry UG first years

Tue, 23 Mar - Fri, 16 April

 

PGCE EDTP611 Specific Skills Development commences

 

 

5

Mon, 29 - Fri, 02 Apr

 

 

Lectures, W 5

 

Lectures, W 2

Thu, 1 Apr

 

 

-Final date for minimum fee payment required for registration.

-Final date for semester 1 registration.

-Final date for curriculum changes

Fri, 02 Apr

Good Friday (Public Holiday)

6

Mon, 05 – Fri, 09 Apr

Mon, 05 Apr

Family Day (Public Holiday)

 

 

Lectures, W 6

 

 

Lectures, W 3

7

Mon, 12 – Fri, 16 Apr

 

 

Lectures, W 7

 

 

Lectures, W 4

Wed, 14 April

Final date for capturing ALL graduation decisions onto ITS (Bachelor through to PhDs)

 

8

Mon, 19 – Fri, 23 Apr

 

 

Lectures, W 8

 

 

Lectures, W 5

Fri, 23 Apr

 

 

PGCE EDTP611 Specific Skills Development ends

 

 

Final date for withdrawal from a module and Final date for withdrawal from the University (S1) for ALL categories of registered students

 

Mon, 26 – Fri, 30 Apr

STUDENT RECESS (MID-TERM BREAK) FOR ALL CATEGORIES OF STUDENTS

 

Tues, 27 Apr

Freedom Day (Public Holiday)

Sat, 01 May

Workers’ Day (Public Holiday)

9

Mon, 03 – Fri, 07 May

 

 

 Lectures, W 9

 

 

Lectures, W 6

Mon, 03 May - Fri, 28 May

 

PGCE EDTP611 School Experience commences

 

 

10

Mon, 10 – Fri, 14 May

 

 

Lectures W 10

 

 

Lectures, W 7

Tues, 11 & Wed, 12

Proposed Graduation PMB

 

 

Thu, 13 May

Eid ul Fitr (condoned absence)

Sat, 15 May

Proposed Graduation WVL commences

11

Mon, 17 – Fri, 21 May

 

Proposed Graduation ceremonies WVL

 Lectures W 11

 

 

Lectures, W 8

Sat, 22 May

Proposed Graduation ceremonies WVL end

 

 

12

Mon, 25 – Fri, 28 May

 

 

 Lectures W 12

 

Lectures, W 9

Fri, 28 May

 

PGCE EDTP611 School Experience ends

 

13

Mon, 31 – Fri, 04 Jun

 

 

Lectures W 13

Lectures, W 10

 

 

 

Wed, 02 Jun

 

DPs published

Fri, 04 Jun

 

Lectures End

Final date for DP appeals submission

Submission of TP documentation

 

Mon, 07 – Fri 11, Jun

Tues, 08 Jun

 

DP appeals outcomes published

Lectures, W 11

Wed,09 Jun

 

Study leave Sat, 05 June - Wed, 09 June

Thurs, 10 Jun

 

Exams commence, including Saturday

 

Mon, 14 – Fri, 18 Jun

Wed, 16 Jun

Youth Day (Public Holiday observed)

Exam week, including Saturday

Lectures, W 12

 

Mon, 21 - Fri 25 Jun

 

 

Exam week, ends Thursday 24, Jun.

Lectures, W 13

 

Mon, 28 June - Fri, 02 Jul

Fri, 02 Jul

 

LECTURES END, including all continuous assessment opportunities. However, academics can complete lectures before this date.

LECTURES END, including all continuous assessment opportunities (Note: 16 July entry).

 

 

Mon, 05 July - Fri, 13 August: STUDENT RECESS (MID-YEAR BREAK) FOR MAJORITY OF STUDENTS

 

Mon, 05 - Fri, 09 Jul

Mon, 05 – Wed, 07 Jul

 

Week of 05 – 07 July, Special assessments only final year /M+students near DC (3 days) (maximum of two (2) coursework modules outstanding, both modules having been registered for and participated during Semester 1

of 2021).

 

Thur, 08 Jul

 

 

Colleges to submit lists of FTENs who are required to remain in residences to DSRA – for relocation to limited ‘open’ residences.

Fri, 09 Jul

 

All available final module marks to be captured on SMS by 12h00

 

 

Mon, 12 - Fri, 16 Jul

Fri, 16 July

 

 

Late FTENs LECTURES END, including all continuous assessment

Mon, 19 – Fri, 23 Jul

Tues, 20 Jul

Eid ul Adha (Celebrated on Wed 21 July)

Wed 21 Jul

 

All modules to be Closed

All modules to be Closed

Fri, 23 Jul

Final ERS run for ALL students

Mon, 26 – Fri, 30 Jul

Tues, 27 Jul

EXAM BOARDS

Wed, 28 Jul

Release of 1st semester results after Exam Boards (00:01 am)

SEMESTER 2: THESE DATES GOING FORWARD APPLY TO ALL REGISTERED STUDENTS

 

Mon, 02 Aug – Fri, 06 Aug

Tues, 3 Aug

DEADLINE: ONLINE EXCLUSION APPEALS, and POST GRAD RE-REGISTRATION APPEALS TO COLLEGES

Wed, 4 Aug

Remote online Registration and Change of Curriculum Commences for Semester 2:2021

 

Mon, 09 – Fri, 13 Aug

Mon, 09 Aug

National Women’s Day (Public Holiday)

Tues, 10 Aug

CEACOMs

BEd. School Experience commences

[EDTP221, EDTP321,EDTP420]

PGCE School Experience [EDTP612] commences

Fri, 13 Aug

AEACOM

1

Mon, 16 – Fri, 20 Aug

Mon, 16 Aug

SEMESTER 2 LECTURES COMMENCE FOR ALL STUDENTS.

 

 

 

 

2

Mon, 23 – Fri, 27 Aug

Mon, 23 Aug

 

PGCE EDTP611 Classroom Technology commences

 

Thurs, 26 Aug

Final date for submission of bound examination copies of dissertations/theses with respect to any’ Intention to Submit’ received in semester 1 of 2021 from a

registered student, without that student having to register for semester 2 of 2021. Note: For possible Graduation Autumn 2022.

Fri, 27 Aug

Final date for minimum fee payment required for registration. Final date for Semester 2 academic registration.

3

Mon, 30 Aug – Fri, 03 Sept

Fri, 03 Sept

Final date for curriculum changes

BEd. School Experience [EDTP221/220, EDTP321/320, [EDTP420] ends

4

Mon, 06 – Fri, 10 Sept

 

Final date for semester 2 registration. -Final date for curriculum changes [BEd  only]

5

Mon, 13 – Fri, 17 Sept

Fri, 17 Sept

Final date for withdrawal from a module and Final date for withdrawal from the University (S2:2021)

Final date for Registration of First Entry RESEARCH Masters and Doctoral candidates

PGCE EDTP611 Classroom Technology ends

PGCE School Experience [EDTP612] ends

 

Mon, 20 - Fri 24 Sept

STUDENT RECESS (MID-TERM BREAK) MONDAY 20 – FRIDAY 24 SEPTEMBER

Fri, 24 Sept

 

Heritage Day (Public Holiday)

Final date for semester 2 registration. - Final date for curriculum changes [PGCE only]

6

Mon, 27 Sept – Fri, 01 Oct

 

 

7

Mon, 04 Oct – Fri, 08 Oct

 


8

Mon, 11– Fri, 15 Oct

Fri, 15 Oct

Final date for capturing ALL graduation decisions onto ITS (Bachelor through to Doctoral degrees).

9

Mon, 18 – Fri, 22 Oct

 

 

10

Mon, 25 – Fri, 29 Oct

 

 

11

Mon, 01 Nov – Fri, 05 Nov

Thu, 04 Nov

Diwali/Deepavali (condoned absence) No assessments or student submissions to be set for this day

12

Mon, 08 – Fri, 12 Nov

 

 

13

Mon, 15 – Fri, 19 Nov

 

Proposed week for virtual Spring 2021 Graduation ceremonies (TBA)

14

Mon, 22 – Fri, 26 Nov

Fri, 26 Nov

SEMESTER 2 LECTURES END, including all continuous assessment opportunities

 

Mon, 29 Nov – Fri, 03 Dec

Fri, 03 Dec

Last day for submission of theses/dissertations from students registered in the semester (Sem 2:2021) to the Post-Graduate Administration Offices for possible Autumn 2022 Graduation.

 

Mon, 06 – Fri, 10 Dec

Wed, 08 Dec

All marks to be capture on SMS by 12h00

 

Mon, 13 – Fri, 17 Dec

Wed, 15 Dec

Exam Boards

   

Thur, 16 Dec

Day of Reconciliation (Public Holiday)

Fri, 17 Dec

Release of 2nd semester results after Exam Boards (00h01)

 

Mon, 20 – Fri, 24 Dec

Fri, 24 Dec

University Offices Close (12h00)

 

Mon, 27 Dec - Fri, 31 Dec

Mon, 27 Dec

Day of Goodwill (Public Holiday observed)

 

PLEASE NOTE

  • Sessional dates for both the School of Medicine and the School of Education will be published seperately.
  • All Bachelor of Nursing students are required to attend clinical training and community work during vacations in any academic year.
  • PGDip (Acc): Sessional dates will be published within the School.
  • Assumed certain COVID 19 restrictions (per Regulations) will still be in place, especially in terms of physical distancing and maximum number of people in a venue (rule of thumb 5m2 per person required).
  • While Graduation ceremony dates have been factored in, there is however, no guarantee of in-person graduation.

 

  • The University of KwaZulu-Natal reserves the right to change any of the said Sessional Dates, solely in its discretion, and without any liability for inconvenience and/or loss occasioned thereby.

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved