Nelson R Mandela School of Medicine

Notes:

  1. Collaboration 2018 Group: Blocks 1 & 2 took place in 2018; Blocks 3-6 take place in 2019 
  2. Condoned absence means that teaching can take place, however, there can be no assessments of any kind. In addition, students who make use of the condoned absence for religious reasons cannot be penalised for non-attendance 
  3. However, with respect to 2 above, if there are no students within the group registered for that module to which the condoned absence applies, examinations can be held on the condoned days

1

Tue, 01 – Fri, 04 Jan

Wed, 02 Jan

University opens

2

Mon, 07 – Fri, 11 Jan

Mon, 07 Jan

(Programme specific) Self-help registration system opens

MBChB 2, 3 & 6: Registration

Collaboration 2018 Group: Orientation & Registration

Tue, 08 Jan

MBChB 6: Block 1 commences

Collaboration 2018 Group: Block 31 commences

Thu, 10 – Fri, 11 Jan

MBChB 4: Orientation & Registration

Fri, 11 Jan

MBChB 5: Orientation & Registratrion (PMB)

3

Mon, 14 – Fri, 18 Jan

Mon, 14 Jan

MBChB 2 & 3: Semester 1 commences

MBChB 4 & 5: Block 1 commences

4

Mon, 21 – Sat, 26 Jan

Mon, 21 Jan

Deadline for:

  • submission of Exclusion Appeals
  • applications for remarks

Fri, 25 Jan

CEACOM (College Exclusion Appeals Com.) meetings

Sat, 26 Jan

Parents’ Day

5

Mon, 28 Jan– Fri, 01 Feb

Mon, 28 Jan– Fri, 01 Feb

MBChB 1: Orientation & Registration

Thu, 31 Jan

AEACOM (Academic Exclusion Appeals Com.) meetings

6

Mon, 04 – Fri, 08 Feb

Mon, 04 Feb

MBChB 1: Semester 1 commences

7

Mon, 11 – Fri, 15 Feb

 

 

8

Mon, 18 – Fri, 22 Feb

Mon, 18 – Fri, 22 Feb

MBChB 4, 5 & 6: Block 1 exams

9

Mon, 25 Feb – Fri, 01 Mar

Mon, 25 Feb

MBChB 4, 5 & 6: Block 2 commences

Wed, 27 Feb

Registration deadline for returning Research Masters & Doctoral students

Fri, 01 Mar

Final date for:

  • minimum fee payment required for student registration
  • 1st Semester registration
  • requests for extended DPs
  • submitting curriculum changes

10

Mon, 04 – Fri, 08 Mar

Mon, 04 – Fri, 08 Mar

Collaboration 2018 Group: Block 31 exams

Fri, 08 Mar

Final day for capturing graduation decisions onto ITS for the students who had outstanding requirements.

(Honours, Bachelors, Diplomas and Certificates)

11

Mon, 11  – Fri, 15 Mar

Mon, 11 Mar

Collaboration 2018 Group: Block 41 commences

12

Mon, 18 – Fri, 22 Mar

Mon, 18 Mar

Final day for capturing graduation decisions onto ITS (Masters and Doctoral Studies)

Thu, 21 Mar

Human Rights Day (Public Holiday)

13

Mon, 25 – Fri 29 Mar

Fri, 29 Mar

Final date for:

  • withdrawal from a module
  • withdrawal from the University (Semester 1)

Final timetable for main & supplementary exams released

14

Mon, 01 – Sat, 06 Apr

Mon, 01 – Fri, 05 Apr

MBChB 4 & 5: Block 2 exams

Mon, 01 – Sat, 06 Apr

Graduation Ceremonies (WVL)

15

Mon, 08 – Fri, 12 Apr

Mon, 08 Apr

MBChB 4 & 5: Block 3 commences

Mon, 08 – Tue, 09 Apr

Graduation Ceremonies (PMB)

Mon, 08 – Fri, 12 Apr

MBChB 6: Block 2 exams

16

Mon, 15 – Fri, 18 Apr

Mon, 15 Apr

MBChB 6: Block 3 commences

Fri, 19 Apr

Good Friday (Public Holiday)

17

Mon, 22 – Sat, 27 Apr

Mon, 22 Apr

Family Day (Public Holiday)

Sat, 27 Apr

Freedom Day (Public Holiday)

18

Mon, 29 Apr – Fri, 03 May

Mon, 29 Apr

Final date for payment of 60% of fees for year registrations or 100%  for semester 1 registrations

Tue, 30 Apr

Last day for submission of theses/dissertations to the Post-Grad Admin Office for possible 2019 September Graduation

Final date for submission of 1st Semester Examination Question Papers (Main & Supps) to the Exams Dept.

Wed, 01 May

Workers’ Day (Public Holiday)

19

Mon, 06 – Fri, 10 May

Mon, 06 – Fri, 10 May

Collaboration 2018 Group: Block 41 exams

Wed, 08 May

DP refusals published

Thu, 09 May

MBChB 1-3: Lectures end

Fri, 10 – Tue, 14 May

MBChB 1-3: Study period

20

Mon, 13 – Fri, 17 May

Mon, 13 May

MBChB 1-3: Final date for submission of DP Appeals to School Offices

Wed, 15 May

MBChB 1-3: First Semester Exams commence (incl. Saturday)

Mon, 13 – Fri, 17 May

MBChB 4 & 5: Block 3 exams

Collaboration 2018 Group: Study week

21

Mon, 20 – Fri, 24 May

Mon, 20 – Fri, 24 May

MBChB 1-3: Exam week

MBChB 4 & 5: Study Week

Collaboration 2018 Group: Supp Exams (week 1)

22

Mon, 27 May – Fri, 31 May

Mon, 27 May – Fri, 31 May

MBChB 4 & 5: Supp Exams (week 1)

MBChB 6: Block 3 exams

Collaboration 2018 Group: Supp Exams (week 2)

Thu, 30 May

MBChB 1-3: First Semester Exams end

Fri, 31 May – Tue, 04 Jun

MBChB 1-3: Break between exams

23

Mon, 03 – Fri, 7 Jun

Mon, 03 Jun

Collaboration 2018 Group: Vacation commences

Mon, 03 – Fri, 7 Jun

MBChB 6: Study Week

MBChB 4 & 5: Supp Exams (week 2)3

Wed, 05 Jun

Eid-Al-Fitr (condoned absence)2

Thu, 06

MBChB 1-3: 1st Semester Supplementary Exams commence

24

Mon, 10 – Fri, 14 Jun

Mon, 10 Jun

MBChB 5: Vacation commences

Collaboration 2018 Group: Block 51 commences

Mon, 10 – Fri, 14 Jun

MBChB 4: CEBP 3 (week 1)

MBChB 6: Supp Exams

Thu, 13 Jun

MBChB 1-3: Supplementary Exams end

MBChB 1-3: First Semester ends

25

Mon, 17 – Fri, 21 Jun

Mon, 17 Jun

Youth Day (Public Holiday)  (Observed)

MBChB 5: Vacation continues

MBChB 6: Vacation commences

Tue, 18 – Fri, 21 Jun

MBChB 4: CEBP 3 (week 2)

26

Mon, 24 – Sat, 29 Jun

Mon, 24 Jun

 

Supplementary Exam marks to be captured on SMS by 12h00

MBChB 4, 5 & 6: Block 4 commences

Sat, 29 Jun

 

Release of 1st semester results after Exam Boards at 00:01 am

27

Mon, 01 – Fri, 05 Jul

 

 

28

Mon, 08 – Fri, 12 Jul

Mon, 08 Jul

MBChB 1-3: Second Semester commences

MBChB 1-3: Lectures commence

Wed, 10 Jul

Deadline for submission of Exclusion Appeals

Fri, 12 Jul

CEACOM meetings (College Exclusion Appeals Com.)

Deadline for applications for re-marks

29

Mon, 15 – Fri, 19 Jul

Tue, 16 Jul

AEACOM meeting (Academic Exclusion Appeals Com.)

Fri, 19 Jul

Final date for:

  • payment of all fees required for student registration (2nd semester).
  • registration – 2nd Semester
  • requests for extended DPs
  • submitting curriculum changes

30

Mon, 22 – Fri, 26 Jul

 

 

31

Mon, 29 Jul – Fri, 02 Aug

Mon, 29 Jul – Fri, 02 Aug

MBChB 4 & 5: Block 4 exams

32

Mon, 05 – Fri, 09 Aug

Mon, 05 Aug

MBChB 4 & 5: Block 5 commences

Mon, 05 – Thu, 08 Aug

MBChB 6: Block 4 exams

Collaboration 2018 Group: Block 51 exams

Collaboration 2019 Group: Orientation

Fri, 09 Aug

National Women’s Day (Public Holiday)

33

Mon, 12 – Fri, 16 Aug

Mon, 12 Aug

Eid-Al-Adhah (condoned absence)2

MBChB 6: Block 5 commences

Collaboration 2018 Group: Block 61 commences

Collaboration 2019 Group:  Block 1 commences

34

Mon, 19 – Fri, 23 Aug

 

 

35

Mon, 26 – Fri, 30 Aug

Tue, 27 Aug

Final day for capturing graduation decisions onto ITS (all qualifications incl. doctoral studies)

Fri, 30 Aug

Final date for payment of all fees

36

Mon, 02 – Fri, 06 Sep

 

 

37

Mon, 09 – Fri, 13 Sep

Mon, 09 – Fri, 13 Sep

MBChB 4 & 5: Block 5 exams

Wed, 11 – Thu, 12 Sep

Spring Graduations (All ceremonies held in WVL)

Fri, 13 Sep

Final date for:

  • withdrawal from a module
  • withdrawal from the University (Sem. 2)

Final timetable for main and supplementary examinations released

38

Mon, 16 – Fri, 20 Sep

Mon, 16 Sep

MBChB 4 & 5: Block 6 commences

39

Mon, 23 – Fri, 27 Sep

Mon, 23 Sep

MBChB 6: Block 5 exams

Tue, 24 Sep

Heritage Day (Public Holiday)

Wed, 25 – Fri, 27 Sep

MBChB 6: Block 5 exams continue

40

Sun, 29 Sep – Fri, 04 Oct

Sun, 29 – Tue, 01 Oct

Rosh Hashanah (condoned absence) 2

Mon, 30 Sep

MBChB 6: Block 6 commences

41

Mon, 07 – Fri, 11  Oct

Mon, 07 – Fri, 11  Oct

Collaboration 2018 Group: Block 6 exams3

Collaboration 2019 Group: Block 1 exams3

Tue, 08 – Wed, 09 Oct

Yom Kippur (condoned absence) 2

Tue, 08 Oct

Final date for submission of 2nd Semester Examination Question Papers (Main & Supps) to the Exams Dept.

42

Mon, 14 – Fri, 18 Oct

Mon, 14 Oct

Collaboration 2019 Group: Block 2 commences

Mon, 14 – Fri, 18 Oct

Collaboration 2018 Group: Study week

Tue, 15 Oct

MBChB 1-3: DP refusals published

Wed, 16 Oct

MBChB 1-3: Lectures end

Thu, 17 – Mon, 21 Oct

MBChB 1-3: Study period

Fri, 18 Oct

MBChB 1-3: Final date for submission of DP Appeals to School Offices

43

Mon, 21 – Sun, 27 Oct

Mon, 21 – Fri, 25 Oct

MBChB 4 & 5: Block 6 exams

Collaboration 2018 Group: Supp Exams (week 1)

Tue, 22 Oct

MBChB 1-3: Second Semester Exams commence (incl. Saturday)

Sun, 27 Oct

Diwali/Deepavali (Condoned absence) 2

44

Mon, 28 Oct – Sat, 02 Nov

Mon, 28 Oct – Fri, 01 Nov

MBChB 4 & 5: Study Week

Collaboration 2018 Group: Supp Exams (week 2)

Mon, 28 Oct  – Sat, 02 Nov

MBChB 1-3: Exam week

Fri, 01 Nov

Final date for submission of College handbooks for 2020

45

Mon, 04  – Fri, 8 Nov

Mon, 04 Nov

Collaboration 2018 Group: Vacation commences

Mon, 04  – Fri, 8 Nov

MBChB 4 & 5: Supp Exams (week 1)

Wed, 06 Nov

MBChB 1-3: Second Semester Exams end

Thu, 07 – Mon, 11 Nov

MBChB 1-3: Break between Exams

46

Mon, 11 – Fri, 15 Nov

Mon, 11 – Fri, 15 Nov

MBChB 4 & 5: Supp Exams (week 2)

MBChB 6: Block 6 exams

Tue, 12 Nov

MBChB 1-3: 2nd Semester Supplementary Exams commence

47

Mon, 18 – Fri, 22 Nov

Mon, 18 Nov

MBChB 4 & 5: Vacation commences

Mon, 18 – Fri, 22 Nov

MBChB 6: Study Week

Tue, 19 Nov

MBChB 1-3: 2nd Semester Supplementary Exams end

MBChB 1-3: Second Semester ends

Fri, 22 Nov

Last day for submission of theses/dissertations to the Post-Graduate Administrative Offices for possible April 2020 Graduation

48

Mon, 25 – Fri, 29 Nov

Mon, 25 – Fri, 29 Nov

MBChB 6: Supp Exams

49

Mon, 02 – Fri, 06 Dec

Mon, 02 Dec

MBChB 6: Vacation commences

Tue, 03 Dec

Supplementary marks to be captured on SMS by 12h00

50

Mon, 09 – Fri, 13 Dec

Mon, 09 – Fri, 13 Dec

Collaboration 2019 Group:  Block 2 exams

Tue, 10 Dec

Release of 2nd semester results after Exam Boards

(00:01 am)

51

Mon, 16 – Fri, 20 Dec

Mon, 16 Dec

Day of Reconciliation (Public Holiday)

Collaboration 2019 Group:  Vacation commences

Tue, 17 – Fri, 20 Dec

MBChB 6: HPCSA Registration for degree completes

Fri, 20 Dec

University Offices close

PLEASE NOTE:

The University of KwaZulu-Natal reserves the right to change any of the said Sessional Dates, solely in its discretion, and without any liability for inconvenience and/or loss occasioned thereby.

SUMMARY

MBChB 4

Block 1

14 Jan – 15 Feb

 

MBChB 5

Block 1

14 Jan – 15 Feb

 

MBChB 6

Block 1

07 Jan – 15 Feb

exams

18 – 22 Feb

exams

18 – 22 Feb

exams

18 – 22 Feb

Block 2

25 Feb – 29 Mar

Block 2

25 Feb – 29 Mar

Block 2

25 Feb – 05 Apr

exams

01 – 05 Apr

exams

01 – 05 Apr

exams

08 – 12 Apr

Block 3

08 Apr – 10 May

Block 3

08 Apr – 10 May

Block 3

15 Apr – 24 May

exams

13 – 17 May

exams

13 – 17 May

exams

27 – 31 May

Study

20 May – 24 May

Study

20 May – 24 May

Study

03 Jun – 07 Jun

Supps

27 May – 07 Jun

Supps

27 May – 07 Jun

Supps

10 Jun – 14 Jun

CEBP3

10 Jun – 21 Jun

Vacation

10 – 21 Jun

Vacation

17 – 21 Jun

Block 4

24 Jun – 26 Jul

Block 4

24 Jun – 26 Jul

Block 4

24 Jun – 02 Aug

exams

29 Jul – 02 Aug

exams

29 Jul – 02 Aug

exams

05 – 08 Aug

Block 5

05 Aug – 06 Sep

Block 5

05 Aug – 06 Sep

Block 5

12 Aug – 20 Sep

exams

09 – 13 Sep

exams

09 – 13 Sep

exams

23 – 27 Sep

Block 6

16 Sep – 18 Oct

Block 6

16 Sep – 18 Oct

Block 6

30 Sep – 08 Nov

exams

21 – 25 Oct

exams

21 – 25 Oct

exams

11 – 15 Nov

Study

28 Oct – 01 Nov

Study

28 Oct – 01 Nov

Study

18 Nov – 22 Nov

Supps

04 Nov – 15 Nov

Supps

04 Nov – 15 Nov

Supps

25 Nov – 29 Nov


Collaboration 2018 Group

Block 3

07 Jan – 01 Mar

 

Collaboration

2019 Group

Orientation

05 Aug – 09 Aug

exams

04 – 08 Mar

Block 1

12 Aug – 04 Oct

Block 4

11 Mar – 03 May

exams

07 – 11 Oct

exams

06 – 10 May

Block 2

14 Oct – 06 Dec

Study

13 May – 17 May

exams

09 – 13 Dec

Supps

20 May – 31 May

 

Block 5

10 Jun – 02 Aug

exams

05 – 08 Aug

Block 6

12 Aug – 04 Oct

exams

07 – 11 Oct

Study

14 Oct – 18 Oct

Supps

21 Oct – 01 Nov


Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved