Howard College, Pietermaritzburg and Westville

FIRST SEMESTER
Monday, 04 February – Thursday, 20 Jun

EASTER VACATION
Saturday, 13 April – Monday, 22 April

WINTER VACATION
Friday, 14 Jun – Sunday, 07 July

SECOND SEMESTER
Monday, 08 July – Tuesday, 19 November

PRE-SEMESTER: 

 

Tue, 01 – Fri, 04 Jan

Wed, 02 Jan

University opens

 

Mon, 07 – Fri, 11 Jan

Mon, 07 Jan

(Programme specific) Self-help registration system opens

 

 

Fri, 11 Jan

PhD Orientation & Registration

[EDGW & PMB]

 

Mon, 14 – Fri, 18 Jan

Mon, 14 Jan – Fri, 8 Feb

B.Ed TP420/601 Supplementary [EDW and PMB]

Mon, 14 Jan – 22 Feb

PGCE  TP602 Supplememtary [EDW and PMB]

Thurs,17 Jan- Fri,18 Jan

PGCE Orientation [Edgewood]

PGCE Registration [Edgewood]

PGCE Orientation & Registration [PMB]

Sat,19 Jan

 

BEdHons Orientation & Registration [Edgewood]

BEdHons Orientation & Registration [PMB]

 

Mon, 21 – Sat, 26 Jan

Mon, 21 Jan

Deadline for submission of Exclusion Appeals

Deadline for applications for remarks

Fri, 25 Jan

CEACOM (College Exclusion Appeals Com.) meetings

Sat, 26 Jan

Parents’ Day

M.Ed Orientation [Edgewood]

M.Ed Orientation & Registration [PMB]

M.Ed Registration [Edgewood]

 

Mon, 28 Jan– Sat, 02 Feb

Mon, 28 Jan– Sat, 02 Feb

Orientation and on-campus registration of students

 

PGCE Classroom Technology (EDW and PGCE)

Mon, 28 Jan

B Ed -Registration (2nd Years)

Tue, 29 Jan

B Ed -Registration (3rd  Years)

Wed, 30 Jan

B Ed- Registration (1st Years)

Thur, 31 Jan

BEd – Registration (4th Years)

Fri, 01 Feb

BEd – Registration (All)

Thu, 31 Jan

AEACOM (Academic Exclusion Appeals Com.) meetings

 

SEMESTER 1: 

1

Mon, 04 – Fri, 08 Feb

Mon, 04 Feb

First Semester commences

Lectures commence

Mon, 4 Feb – Tue, 12 April

PGCE Specific skills Development commence [EDW & PMB]

2

Mon, 11 – Fri, 15 Feb

 

 

3

Mon, 18 – Fri, 22 Feb

 

 

4

Mon, 25 Feb – Fri, 01 Mar

Wed, 27 Feb

Registration deadline for returning Research Masters & Doctoral students

Fri, 01 Mar

Final date for minimum fee payment required for student registration

Final date for 1st Semester registration

Final date for requests for extended DPs

Final date for submitting curriculum changes

5

Mon, 04– Fri, 08 Mar

Fri, 08 Mar

Final day for capturing graduation decisions onto ITS for the students who had outstanding requirements.

(Honours, Bachelors, Diplomas and Certificates)

6

Mon, 11  – Fri, 15 Mar

 

                                                                      

7

Mon, 18 – Fri, 22 Mar

Mon, 18 Mar

Final day for capturing graduation decisions onto ITS (Masters and Doctoral Studies)

Thu, 21 Mar

Human Rights Day (Public Holiday)

8

Mon, 25 – Fri 29 Mar

Fri, 29 Mar

Final date for withdrawal from a module

Final date for withdrawal from the University (Semester 1)

Final timetable for main & supplementary exams released

9

Mon, 01 – Sat, 06 Apr

Mon, 01 – Sat, 06 Apr

Graduation Ceremonies (WVL)

Tue, 02 Apr

To follow Thursday’s timetable (Compensatory day)

 

 

Tue, 2 April – Fri, 3 May

PGCE School Experience 601 [PMB & EDW]

10

Mon, 08 – Fri, 12 Apr

Mon, 08 – Tue, 09 Apr

Graduation Ceremonies (PMB)

    Sat, 13 Apr – Mon, 22 Apr

EASTER VACATION  (STUDENT MID-TERM BREAK)

Fri, 19 Apr

Good Friday (Public Holiday)

Mon, 22 Apr

Family Day (Public Holiday)

11

Tue, 23 – Sat, 27 Apr

Sat, 27 Apr

Freedom Day (Public Holiday)

12

Mon, 29 Apr – Fri, 03 May

Mon, 29 Apr

Final date for payment of 60% of fees for year registrations or 100%  for semester 1 registrations

Tue, 30 Apr

Last day for submission of theses/dissertations to the Post-Grad Admin Office for possible 2019 September Graduation

Final date for submission of 1st Semester Examination Question Papers (Main & Supps) to the Exams Dept.

Wed, 01 May

Workers’ Day (Public Holiday)

13

Mon, 06 – Fri, 10 May

 

 

14

Mon, 13 – Fri, 17 May

Tue, 14 May

DP refusals published

Wed, 15 May

Lectures end

Thu, 16 – 20 May

Study period

Fri, 17 May

Final date for submission of DP Appeals to School Offices

15

Mon, 20 – Sat, 25 May

Tue, 21 May

First Semester Exams commence (incl. Saturday)

16

Mon, 27 May – Sat, 01 Jun

Mon, 27 May – Sat, 01 Jun

Exam week

17

Mon, 03 – Fri, 07 Jun

Mon, 03 – Tue, 04 Jun

First Semester Exams (cont.)

Wed, 05 Jun

Eid-Al-Fitr (condoned absence)   (no exams)

Thu, 06 Jun

First Semester Exams end

Fri, 07 Jun

Initial school visit (B.Ed & PGCE) [EDW and PMB]

Fri, 07 – Tue, 11 Jun

Break between exams

18

Mon, 10 – Sat, 15 Jun

Wed, 12 Jun

1st Semester Supplementary Exams commence

19

Mon, 17 – Fri, 21 Jun

Mon, 17 Jun

Youth Day (Public Holiday observed) (no exams)

Thu, 20 Jun

Supplementary Exams end

First Semester ends

Semester 1:

  • Teaching days:    Monday 13 ,  Tuesday 14 ,  Wednesday 13 ,  Thursday 12 ,  Friday 13  :  65 days
  • Compensatory day:   (Tuesday 02 April, follows Thursday’s timetable)
  • Study leave:  5 days;     Main Examinations:  14 days;  Supplementary Exams:  7 days; 

 

     Fri, 21 Jun – Sun, 07 Jul

MID-YEAR BREAK  (Winter Vacation)

 Fri, 28 Jun

 

Supplementary Exam marks to be captured on SMS by 12h00

 Fri, 05 Jul

 

Release of 1st semester results after Exam Boards at 00:01 am



SEMESTER 2: 

1

Mon, 08 – Fri, 12 Jul

Mon, 08 Jul

Second Semester commences

Lectures commence

Mon, 8 Jul – Fri,  2 Aug

Teaching Practice:

BEd commence [EDW]

Mon, 8 Jul – Fri, 16 Aug

Teaching Practice:

PGCE 602 School Experience commence [EDW & PMB]

Wed, 10 Jul

Deadline for submission of Exclusion Appeals

Fri, 12 Jul

CEACOM meetings (College Exclusion Appeals Com.)

Deadline for applications for re-marks

2

Mon, 15 – Fri, 19 Jul

Mon, 15 Jul – Fri, 2 Aug

BEd TP120 Classroom Technolgies begins

Tue, 16 Jul

AEACOM meeting (Academic Exclusion Appeals Com.)

Wed, 17 Jul

To follow Friday’s timetable (Compensatory day)

Fri, 19 Jul

Final date for payment of all fees required for student registration (2nd semester).

Final date for registration – 2nd Semester

Final date for requests for extended DPs

Final date for submitting curriculum changes

3

Mon, 22 – Fri, 26 Jul

 

 

4

Mon, 29 Jul – Fri, 02 Aug

Fri, 02 Aug

Teaching Practice end: BEd (Second, Third and Forth Years)

5

Mon, 05 – Fri, 09 Aug

Mon, 5 Aug

Lectures commence: [BEd only]

Mon, 5 Aug – Fri, 15 Oct

B.Ed TP120 Micro-Mini

Fri, 09 Aug

National Women’s Day (Public Holiday)

6

Mon, 12 – Fri, 16 Aug

Mon, 12

Eid-Al-Adhah (condoned absence)

Fri, 16 Aug

Final date for registration – 2nd Semester [BEd only]

Final date for requests

for extended DPs [BEd only]

Final date for submitting

curriculum changes [BEd only]

7

Mon, 19 – Fri, 23 Aug

Mon, 19 Aug

Lectures commence: PGCE students only

 

 

Fri, 23 Aug

Final date for registration – 2nd Semester [PGCE only]

Final date for requests for extended DPs [PGCE only]

Final date for submitting curriculum changes [PGCE only]

8

Mon, 26 – Fri, 30 Aug

Tue, 27 Aug

Final day for capturing graduation decisions onto ITS (all qualifications incl. doctoral studies)

Fri, 30 Aug

Final date for payment of all fees

9

Sun, 02 – Fri, 06 Sep

 

 

10

Mon, 09 – Fri, 13 Sep

Wed, 11 – Thu, 12 Sep

Spring Graduations (All ceremonies held in WVL)

Fri, 13 Sep

Final date for withdrawal from the University (Sem. 2)

Final date for withdrawal from a module

Final timetable for main and supplementary examinations released

          Sat, 14 Sep – Tue, 24 Sep

         

                               STUDENT MID-TERM BREAK

Tue, 24 Sep

Heritage Day (Public Holiday)

11

Wed, 25 – Fri, 27 Sep

 

 

12

Sun, 29 Sep – Fri, 04 Oct

Sun, 29 – Tue, 01 Oct

Rosh Hashanah (condoned absence)

13

Mon, 07 – Fri, 11  Oct

Tue, 08 – Wed, 09 Oct

Yom Kippur (condoned absence)

Tue, 08 Oct

Final date for submission of 2nd Semester Examination Question Papers (Main & Supps) to the Exams Dept.

14

Mon, 14 – Fri, 18 Oct

Tue, 15 Oct

DP refusals published

Wed, 16 Oct

Lectures end

Thu, 17 – Mon, 21 Oct

Study period

Fri, 18 Oct

Final date for submission of DP Appeals to School Offices

15

Mon, 21 – Sun, 27 Oct

Tue, 22 Oct

Second Semester Exams commence (incl. Saturday)

Sun, 27 Oct

Diwali/Deepavali (Condoned absence)  (no exams)

16

Mon, 28 Oct – Sat, 02 Nov

Mon, 28 Oct  – Sat, 02 Nov

Exam week

Fri, 01 Nov

Final date for submission of College handbooks for 2020

17

Mon, 04  – Sat, 09 Nov

Wed, 06 Nov

Second Semester Exams end

Thu, 07 – Mon, 11 Nov

Break between Exams

18

Mon, 11  – Sat, 16 Nov

Tue, 12 Nov

2nd Semester Supplementary Exams commence

19

Mon, 18 – Fri, 22 Nov

Tue, 19 Nov

2nd Semester Supplementary Exams end

Second Semester ends

Fri, 22 Nov

Last day for submission of theses/dissertations to the Post-Graduate Administrative Offices for possible April 2020 Graduation

Semester 2:

  • Teaching days:   Monday 13 ,  Tuesday 13 ,  Wednesday 14 ,  Thursday 13 ,  Friday 12 :  65 days
  • Compensatory days:   (Wednesday, 17 July, follows Friday’s timetable)
  • Study leave:  5 days;     Examinations:  14 days;     Supplementary Exams:  7 days

YEAR-END BREAK:

 

Mon, 02 – Fri, 06 Dec 

Tue, 03 Dec

Supplementary marks to be captured on SMS by 12h00

 

Mon, 09 – Fri, 13 Dec 

Tue, 10 Dec

Release of 2nd semester results after Exam Boards

(00:01 am)

 

Mon, 16 – Fri, 20 Dec

Mon, 16 Dec

Day of Reconciliation (Public Holiday)

 

 

Fri, 20 Dec

University Offices close


PLEASE NOTE: 

  • Sessional Dates for both the School of Medicine and the School of Education will be published separately.
  • BComHons(Acc) and PGDip(Acc) : Winter vacation will end a week early (i.e. 07 Jul); and lectures will end on Friday 06 September. There will be no Sept. mid-term break; and year-end exams (incl.supps) will run from 02 October to 08 Nov. 
  • All Bachelor of Nursing students are required to attend clinical training and community work during  vacations in the year from the 7 January 2019 up until the 21 December 2019
  • The University of KwaZulu-Natal reserves the right to change any of the said Sessional Dates, solely in its discretion, and without any liability for inconvenience and/or loss occasioned thereby.

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved