UKZN Sessional Dates 2016 - Howard College, Pietermaritzburg and Westville

FIRST SEMESTER: Monday, 08 February – Thursday, 23 Jun

EASTER VACATION: Saturday, 19 March – Monday, 28 March

WINTER VACATION: Friday, 24 Jun – Sunday, 24 July

SECOND SEMESTER: Monday, 25 July – Thursday, 01 December

 

PRE-SEMESTER: 

 

Mon, 04 – Fri, 08 Jan

Mon, 04 Jan

University opens

Wed, 06 Jan

Self-help registration system opens

 

Mon, 11 – Fri, 15 Jan

Tue, 12 Jan

 

Deadline for applications for re-marks

Deadline for submission of Exclusion Appeals

 

Mon, 18 – Fri, 22 Jan

On or before Mon, 18 Jan

CEACOM meetings (College Exclusion Appeals Comm.)

Fri, 22 Jan

AEACOM meeting

 

Mon, 25 – Sat, 30 Jan

Sat, 30 Jan

Parents’ Day

 

Mon, 01 – Fri, 05 Feb

Mon, 01 – Fri, 05 Feb

Orientation and on-campus registration of students

 

SEMESTER 1: 

1

Mon, 08 – Fri, 12 Feb

Mon, 08 Feb

First Semester commences

Lectures commence

2

Mon, 15 – Sat, 20 Feb

Fri, 19 Feb

Final date for submitting curriculum changes, incl. registration for returning postgraduates

Final date for requests for extended DPs

3

Mon, 22 – Fri, 26 Feb

 

 

4

Mon, 29 Feb – Fri, 04 Mar

Mon, 29 Feb

Final date for minimum fee payment required for student registration

Final date for 1st Semester registration

5

Mon, 07– Fri, 11 Mar

Fri, 11 Mar

Final day for capturing graduation decisions onto ITS for the students who had outstanding requirements.

(Honours, Bachelors, Diplomas and Certificates)

Tue, 08 Mar

Compensatory:  Follows Monday Timetable.

6

Mon, 14  – Fri, 18 Mar

 

                                                                   

 

Sat, 19 – Mon, 28 Mar

EASTER VACATION  (STUDENT MID-TERM BREAK)

Mon, 21 Mar

Human Rights’ Day (Public Holiday)

Fri, 25 Mar

Good Friday (Public Holiday)

Mon, 28 Mar

Family Day (Public Holiday)

7

Mon, 21 – Fri, 25 Mar

Thu, 24 Mar

Final day for capturing graduation decisions onto ITS (Doctoral and Masters Studies)

8

Mon, 28 Mar – Fri, 01 Apr

 

 

9

Mon, 04 – Fri, 08 Apr

 

 

10

Mon, 11 – Sat, 16 Apr

Mon, 11 – Sat, 16 Apr

Graduation Ceremonies (WVL)

Fri, 15 Apr

Final date for withdrawal from a module

Final date for withdrawal from the University (Semester 1)

Final timetable for main & supplementary exams released

11

Mon, 18 – Fri, 22 Apr

Mon, 18 – Tue, 19 Apr

Graduation Ceremonies (PMB)

12

Mon, 25 – Fri, 29 Apr

Wed, 27 Apr

Freedom Day (Public Holiday observed)

13

Mon, 02 – Fri, 06 May

Mon, 02 May

Workers Day (Public Holiday observed)

14

Mon, 09 – Fri, 13 May

 

 

15

Mon, 16 – Fri, 20 May

Tue, 17 May

DP refusals published

Wed, 18 May

Lectures end

Thu, 19 – Mon, 23 May

Study period

Fri, 20 May

Final date for submission of DP Appeals to School Offices

16

Mon 23 – Fri, 27 May

Tue, 24 May

First Semester Exams commence (incl. Saturdays)

17

Mon, 30 May – Fri, 03 Jun

 

Exam week

18

 

Mon, 06 -  Fri,  10 Jun

 

Wed, 08 Jun

First Semester Exams end

Thu, 09 – Mon, 13 Jun

Break between exams

19

Mon, 13 – Fri, 17 Jun

Wed, 15 Jun

1st Semester Supplementary Exams commence

Thu, 16 Jun

Youth Day (Public Holiday) (no exams)

20

Mon, 20 – Fri, 24 Jun

Thu, 23 Jun

Supplementary Exams end

First Semester ends

Semester 1:

  • Teaching days:    Monday 12 ,  Tuesday 14 ,  Wednesday 13 ,  Thursday 13 ,  Friday 13  :  65 days
  • Compensatory day:   (Tuesday 08 March, follows Monday’s timetable)
  • Study leave:  5 days;     Main Examinations:  14 days;  Supplementary Exams:  7 days; 


 

Fri, 24 Jun – Sun, 24 Jul

MID-YEAR BREAK  (Winter Vacation)

 

 Fri, 01 Jul

 

Supplementary Exam marks to be captured on SMS by 12h00

Tue, 05 Jul

Eid-Al-Fitr (condoned absence)

 Fri, 08 Jul

 

Release of 1st semester results after Exam Boards at 00:01 am



SEMESTER 2: 

1

Mon, 25 – Fri, 29 Jul

Mon, 25 Jul

Second Semester commences

Lectures commence

2

Mon, 01 – Fri, 05 Aug

Thu, 04 Aug

Final date for payment of all fees required for student registration (2nd semester).

Fri, 05 Aug

Final date for registration – 2nd Semester

Final date for submitting curriculum changes

Final date for requests for extended DPs

Deadline for submission of Exclusion Appeals

Deadline for applications for re-marks

3

Mon, 08 – Fri, 12 Aug

On or before Wed, 10 Aug

CEACOM meetings (College Exclusion Appeals Comm.)

Tue, 09 Aug

National Women’s Day (Public Holiday)

4

Mon, 15 – Fri, 19 Aug

Tue, 16 Aug

AEACOM meeting

5

Mon, 22 – Fri, 26 Aug

 

 

6

Mon, 29 Aug – Fri, 02 Sep

Sun, 11 Sep

Eid-Al-Adhah (condoned absence)

7

Mon, 05 – Sun, 11 Sep

 

 

8

Mon, 12 – Fri, 16 Sep

 

 

 

Sat, 17 Sep – Sun, 25 Sep

                              STUDENT MID-TERM BREAK

Sat, 24 Sep

Heritage Day (Public Holiday)

9

Mon, 26 – Fri, 30 Sep

Tue, 27 Sep

Final date for withdrawal from a module

Final date for withdrawal from the University (Semester 2)

Final timetable for main and supplementary examinations released

10

Mon, 03 – Fri, 07 Oct

Mon 03 – Tue, 04 Oct

Rosh Hashanah (condoned absence)

11

Mon, 10 – Fri, 14  Oct

Wed, 12 Oct

Yom Kippur (condoned absence)

12

Mon, 17 – Fri, 21 Oct

 

 

13

Mon, 24 – Sun, 30 Oct

Thu, 27 Oct

DP refusals published

Fri, 28 Oct

Lectures end

Sat, 29 Oct – Wed, 02 Nov

Study period

Sun, 30 Oct

Diwali/Deepavali (Condoned absence)

14

Mon, 31 Oct – Sat, 05 Nov

Mon, 31 Oct

Final date for submission of College handbooks for 2017

Tue, 01 Nov

Final date for submission of DP Appeals to School Offices

Thu, 03 Nov

Second Semester Exams commence (incl. Saturdays)

15

Mon, 07  – Fri, 11 Nov

 

Exam week

16

Mon, 14  – Sat, 19 Nov

Fri, 18 Nov

Second Semester Exams end

Sat, 19 – Wed, 23 Nov

Break between Exams

17

Mon, 21 – Sat, 26 Nov

Thu, 24 Nov

2nd Semester Supplementary Exams commence

18

Mon, 28 Nov– Fri, 02 Dec

Thu, 01 Dec

2nd Semester Supplementary Exams end

Second Semester ends

Fri, 02 Dec

Last day for submission of theses/dissertations to the Post-Graduate Administrative Offices for possible April 2017 Graduation

Semester 2:

  • Teaching days:   Monday 13 ,  Tuesday 12 ,  Wednesday 13 ,  Thursday 13 ,  Friday 13 :  64 days
  • Compensatory days:  0
  • Study leave:  5 days;     Examinations:  14 days;     Supplementary Exams:  7 days

YEAR-END BREAK:

 

Mon, 05 – Fri, 09 Dec 

Thu, 08 Dec

Supplementary marks to be captured on SMS by 12h00

 

Mon, 12 – Fri, 16 Dec 

Thu, 15 Dec

Release of 2nd semester results after Exam Boards

(00:01 am)

Fri, 16 Dec

Day of Reconciliation (Public Holiday)

 

Mon, 19 – Fri, 23 Dec

Fri, 23 Dec

University Offices close



Please note: The University of KwaZulu-Natal reserves the right to change any of the said Sessional Dates, 
solely in its discretion, and without any liability for inconvenience and/or loss occasioned thereby.



Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved