UKZN Sessional Dates 2014 - Howard College, Pietermaritzburg and Westville

FIRST SEMESTER          :     Monday, 10 February – Wednesday, 25 June

EASTER VACATION       :     Saturday, 12 April – Monday, 21 April

WINTER VACATION        :     Thursday, 26 June – Sunday, 20 July

SECOND SEMESTER     :     Monday, 21 July – Wednesday, 26 November


PRE-SEMESTER: 

 

Wed, 01 – Fri, 03 Jan

Wed, 01 Jan

New Year’s Day (Public Holiday)

Thu, 02 Jan

University Offices open

 

Mon, 06 – Fri, 10 Jan

Tue, 07 Jan

Self-help registration system opens

Thu, 09 Jan

 

Deadline for applications for re-marks

Deadline for submission of Exclusion Appeals

 

Mon, 13 – Fri, 17 Jan

On or before Wed, 15 Jan

CEACOM meetings (College Exclusion Appeals Comm.)

 

Mon, 20 – Sat, 25 Jan

Tue, 21

AEACOM meeting

 

Mon, 27 – Sat, 01 Feb

Sat, 01 Feb

Parents’ Day

 

Mon, 03 Feb – Sat, 08 Feb

Mon, 03 Feb – Sat, 08 Feb

Orientation and On-Campus Registration of students

 

 

SEMESTER 1: 

1

 

Mon, 10 – Sun, 16 Feb

 

Mon, 10 Feb

First Semester commences

Lectures commence

Thu, 20 Feb

Final date for payment of all fees required for student registration.

2

Mon, 17– Fri, 21 Feb

Fri, 21 Feb

Final date for registration – 1st Semester

Final date for submitting curriculum changes

Final date for requests for extended DPs

3

Mon, 24  – Fri, 28 Feb

 

                                                                           

4

Mon, 03 – Fri, 07 Mar

Fri, 07 Mar

Final day for capturing graduation decisions onto ITS for the students who had outstanding requirements.

(Honours, Bachelors, Diplomas and Certificates)

5

Mon, 10 – Fri, 14 Mar

 

 

6

Mon, 17 – Fri, 21 Mar

Wed, 19 Mar

Compensatory:  Follows Friday Timetable.

Fri, 21 Mar

Human Rights’ Day (Public Holiday)

7

Mon, 24 – Fri, 28 Mar

Mon, 24 Mar

Final day for capturing graduation decisions onto ITS (Doctoral and Masters Studies)

8

Mon, 31 Mar – Fri, 04 Apr

 

 

9

Mon, 07 – Sat, 12 Apr

Mon, 07 – Sat, 12 Apr

Graduation Ceremonies (WVL)

Fri, 11 Apr

Final date for withdrawal from a module

Final date for withdrawal from the University (Semester 1)

Final timetable for main & supplementary exams released

 

Sat, 12 –  Mon, 21 Apr

EASTER VACATION  (STUDENT MID-TERM BREAK)

10

Mon, 14 – Fri, 18 Apr

Mon, 14 – Tue, 15 Apr

Graduation Ceremonies (PMB)

Fri, 18 Apr

Good Friday (Public Holiday)

11

Mon, 21 – Fri, 25 Apr

Mon, 21 Apr

Family Day (Public Holiday)

12

Mon, 28 Apr – Fri, 02 May

Mon, 28 Apr

Tue, 29 Apr

Freedom Day (Public Holiday observed)

Compensatory:  Follows Monday Timetable.

 

 

Thu, 01 May

Workers Day (Public Holiday)

12

Mon 05 – Fri, 9 May

 

 

13

Mon, 12 – Fri, 16 May

 

 

14

 

Mon, 19 -  Fri,  23 May

 

Wed, 21 May

DP refusals published

Thu, 22 May

Lectures end

Fri, 23 – Tue, 27 May

Study period

Mon, 26 May

Final date for submission of DP Appeals to School Offices

15

Mon, 26 May – Sat, 31 Jun

Wed, 28 May

First Semester Exams commence (incl. Saturdays)

16

Mon, 02 Jun – Sat, 07 Jun

 

Exam week

17

Mon, 09 – Fri, 13 Jun

Thu, 12 Jun

Fri, 13 – Tue, 17 Jun

First Semester Exams end

Break between exams

18

Mon, 16 – Sat, 21 Jun

Mon, 16 Jun

Youth Day (Public Holiday)

Wed, 18 Jun

1st Semester Supplementary Exams commence

19

Mon, 23 – Fri, 27 Jun

Wed, 25 Jun

Supplementary Exams end

First Semester ends

Semester 1:

Teaching days:   Monday 13 ,  Tuesday 13 ,  Wednesday 13 ,  Thursday 13 ,  Friday 13  :  65 days

Study leave:  5 days;     Examinations:  14 days;     Supp exams:  7 days;  Two Compensatory days:  (Wed,19 Mar & Tue, 29 Apr)


 

Thu, 26 Jun – Sun, 20 Jul

 

MID-YEAR BREAK  (Winter Vacation)

 Thu, 03 Jul

 

Supplementary Exam marks to be captured on SMS by 12h00

 Thu, 10 Jul

 

Release of 1st semester results after Exam Boards at 00:01 am


SEMESTER 2: 

1

Mon, 21 – Fri, 25 Jul

Mon, 21 Jul

 

Second Semester commences

Lectures commence

Tue, 22 Jul

Deadline for submission of Exclusion Appeals

Deadline for applications for re-marks

On or before Fri, 25 Jul

CEACOM meetings (College Exclusion Appeals Comm.)

2

Mon, 28 Jul – Fri, 01 Aug

Mon, 28 Jul

Eid-Al-Fitr (condoned absence)

Wed, 30 Jul

AEACOM meeting

Thu, 31 Jul

Final date for payment of all fees required for student registration.

Fri, 01 Aug

Final date for registration – 2nd Semester

Final date for submitting curriculum changes

Final date for requests for extended DPs

3

Mon, 04 – Sat, 09 Aug

Sat, 09 Aug

National Women’s Day (Public Holiday)

4

Mon, 11 – Fri, 15 Aug

 

 

5

Mon, 18 – Fri, 22 Aug

 

 

6

Mon, 25 – Fri, 29 Aug

 

 

7

Mon, 01 – Fri, 05 Sep

 

 

8

Mon, 08 – Fri, 12 Sep

Fri, 12 Sep

Final date for withdrawal from a module

Final date for withdrawal from the University (Semester 2)

Final timetable for main and supplementary examinations released

9

Mon, 15 – Fri, 19 Sep

Fri, 19 Sep

Lectures end for Mid-Term Break

 

Sat, 20 Sep – Sun, 28 Sep

                                 STUDENT MID-TERM BREAK

Wed, 24 Sep

Thu, 25 Sep

Heritage Day (Public Holiday)

Rosh Hashanah (condoned absence)

10

Mon, 29 Sep – Sat, 03 Oct

Mon, 29 Sep

Lectures resume

Sat, 04 Oct

Yom Kippur (condoned absence)

Eid-Al-Adhah (condoned absence)

11

Mon, 06 – Fri, 10  Oct

 

 

12

Mon, 13 – Fri, 17 Oct

 

 

13

 

Mon, 20 – Sat, 25 Oct

Thu, 23 Oct

DP refusals published

Diwali/Deepavali (Condoned absence)

Fri, 24 Oct

Lectures end

Sat, 25 – Wed, 29 Oct

Study period

14

Mon, 27 Oct – Sat, 01 Nov

Tue, 28 Oct

Final date for submission of DP Appeals to School Offices

Thu, 30 Oct

Second Semester Exams commence (incl. Saturdays)

Fri, 31 Oct

Final date for submission of College handbooks for 2015

15

Mon, 03  – Sat, 08 Nov

 

Exam week

16

Mon, 10  – Fri, 14 Nov

Fri, 14 Nov

Sat, 15 – Wed, 19 Nov

Second Semester Exams end

Break between Exams

17

Mon, 17 – Fri, 21 Nov

Thu, 20 Nov

2nd Semester Supplementary Exams commence

18

Mon, 24– Fri, 28 Nov

Thu, 27 Nov

2nd Semester Supplementary Exams end

Second Semester ends

Fri, 28 Nov

Last day for submission of theses/dissertations to the Post-Graduate Administrative Offices for possible April 2015 Graduation

Semester 2:

Teaching days:   Monday 13 ,  Tuesday 13 ,  Wednesday 13 ,  Thursday 13 ,  Friday 13 :  65 days

Study leave:  5 days;     Examinations:  14 days;     Supp exams:  7 days;   Compensatory days: 0


YEAR-END BREAK:

 

Mon, 01 – Fri, 05 Dec 

Fri, 05 Dec

Supplementary marks to be captured on SMS by 12h00

 

Mon, 08 – Fri, 12 Dec

Fri, 12 Dec

Release of 2nd semester results after Exam Boards

(00:01 am)

 

Mon, 16 – Tue, 31 Dec

 

Tue, 16 Dec

Day of Reconciliation (Public Holiday)

Wed, 24 Dec

University Offices close

Thu, 25 Dec

Christmas Day (Public Holiday)

Fri, 26 Dec

Day of Goodwill (Public Holiday)


Please note: The University of KwaZulu-Natal reserves the right to change any of the said Sessional Dates,       

    solely in its discretion, and without any liability for inconvenience and/or loss occasioned thereby.




Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved